Catholics Have Their Priorities Straight!

After reading this post from Matthew Bellisario, the self-proclaimed Catholic Champion, I had to write a reply. The crux of what Bellisario wrote can be read right here:

Faithful Catholics are sick and tired of heretical, scandalous priests in the Church. It seems that there are so many that it is almost impossible for good bishops to control them all. They destroy the liturgy to their own amusement while Catholics have to suffer their awful sermons, bad jokes and liturgical abuses. Fortunately I attend an Eastern Catholic Church and a Latin Mass only parish 99% of the time, and I am surrounded by great priests. But there are occasions where I have to endure the scourges of apostasy outside of these sanctuaries, and it is enough to get me fired up.

I have a petition to all of the orthodox Catholic bishops of the world who want to straighten out this mess in their diocese. Hire a good canon lawyer, and then threaten these apostate priests with the loss of retirement. In fact, I think that all of the orthodox bishops in the Church should wake up tomorrow morning and make an example out of someone. Pick the Father Pfleger of your diocese and punt them out of the Church in the same manner in which we saw Satan get fired down out of heaven, like lightening. Make it clear that any disobedience concerning the Catholic faith by a priest will be met with a swift defrocking and a loss of all retirement from the Church.

I originally wanted to post a comment to his blog rather than starting a new thread here, but since he has comment moderation enabled, I doubt what I wrote will get through. So, in case it doesn’t, here is my reply:

I hate to say this, because sex abuse scandal references even tire me (and I’m not Catholic by any stretch of the imagination), but I have to be the first one to say this:

If the bishops didn’t defrock priests that raped kids, what in the name of heaven makes you think that they will do so with a priest who deviates from the script of the Mass? Better question: which is the greater moral evil? One final question: if they do defrock a priest who ad libs a Mass but not a priest that raped numerous youngsters, how do think that is going to look to those outside the church, even an honest seeker who is mulling over joining a church?

About Cory Tucholski

I'm a born-again Christian, amateur apologist and philosopher, father of 3. Want to know more? Check the "About" page!

Posted on July 28, 2010, in Heresy, Morality, Roman Catholicism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

